View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:15 pm




Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
 HALO 2 FOR VISTA!!! 
Author Message
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:51 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Bronx, New York
http://www.shacknews.com/extras/2007/030607_halo2pc_1.x

Acheivements for PC like 360?
http://www.joystiq.com/2007/04/09/halo-2-vista-achievements-discovered-viral-hilarity-ensues/


Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:59 pm
Profile
GCI staff
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2007 10:48 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Xfire: Jason9811
Post 
I seriously don't want Vista...it sucks and I hope it works for XP. Cuz I would be pissed off it wasn't. Halo 2 FTL on Vista


Mon Apr 16, 2007 2:39 pm
Profile WWW
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:51 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Bronx, New York
Post 
Yah that's for sure, I'd really like the Halo 2 to work for Xp. It would be nice to have a good fantasy FPS for the PC, ya know? Especially for an OS that more people have than Vista from my studies on it.


Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:19 pm
Profile
Digital calculator

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 15
Location: NC
Post 
I think this is just another attempt at Microsoft to get PC gamers to pay for online deathmatch gaming.


Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:06 am
Profile
Bead calculator

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:05 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Connecticut
Post 
I heard if you get vista all your games won't work on it except for the newer ones


Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:08 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
According to my tests with the Vista Beta 2, that's not true. I tried a few games without problems, one of them I remember being UT2004.


Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:22 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:51 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Bronx, New York
Post 
Just to get your test results in more detail can you explain all the games that you tried that worked on the test?


Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:58 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
I never did any formal tests, I'm just going by memory. All I can remember testing for sure was UT2004 and I'm sure I tried a few others but don't remember which ones.


Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:52 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:20 am
Posts: 19
Post 
Pilot_51 wrote:
I never did any formal tests, I'm just going by memory. All I can remember testing for sure was UT2004 and I'm sure I tried a few others but don't remember which ones.

I use to think UT2004 is free >_<

_________________
ImageI FREAKING LOVE THE BATTLEHAMMER!Image


Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:55 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
It's probably as close to free as a retail game gets, not so much for price but for content. The demo is very well made and compatible with the full version and they constantly release free content. The CD isn't required to play (unlike literally every single other modern game out there) and they promote modding; the bonus DVD has hours and hours of instructional video for modding in the Unreal 2 engine. I don't think Epic/Atari has ever made any kind of addon cost extra (unlike EA and Valve).


Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:05 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:20 am
Posts: 19
Post 
I'm downloading demo right now...and isn't this like mph a bit? I think I remember you saying that once.

_________________
ImageI FREAKING LOVE THE BATTLEHAMMER!Image


Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:12 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
Yeah, MPH takes just about every game mode from UT2004.


Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:19 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 16
Post 
well, Halo series is a joke. and I give Halo 2 for Vista 2 days to be cracked to work on XP. Also, I can post some tests for gaming compatibility for Vista 32 and 64 bit if you want...


Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:43 pm
Profile
Digital calculator

Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 15
Location: NC
Post 
sasuke wrote:
I heard if you get vista all your games won't work on it except for the newer ones


some games won't work, but most are the games that were made before xp came out that still worked on xp for some reason. I had a friend's brother that did some tests and he found that newer games run better on XP because it's less memory-intensive.

I just don't want to pay $XXX for some operating system I don't need right now. I'll get Vista later, of course, but by that time it's gonna be less than $200.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:56 am
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
I have a few old Win95/98 games that don't work on XP even with compatibility, one of them is because it calls for a swap file or something that only exists in 95 or 98.

I saw Vista Home Basic in the store for $100 for the upgrade and $200 for the full. I also found on Newegg that there's a "System Builders" (basically just OEM) version for the same price, or a Home Premium version for about $115.

I agree, I don't want to buy Vista until I need it or until they smooth out most of the bumps. I don't think I'll really need it for a long time, but I'm sure I'll want it in about a year when Vista starts becoming the mainstream OS.
Right now I think most of the people getting Vista are the people buying new pre-built PC's from companies like Dell or building from scratch with a new Windows license.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:16 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Bead calculator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:03 pm
Posts: 4
Post 
Halo 2 will only work on Vista, sorry buy microsoft will insure that. When does it come out; late 2007? Microsoft will abandon XP that that time too. They will stop selling it and end the extended support fase abruptly. They did the same thing to Windows 2000 during 2006, my favorite operating system of all time. The rain stopped falling on 2000, the same will happen for XP.

The only way Halo 2 will work on XP is with an extensive array of cracks and patches. Not only for halo 2, but DX10 as well. It will be a monumental effort. Even if someone succeeded, your Halo 2 will be block from online game play.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 1:43 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
Microsoft will support XP at least a few more years. It took them about 5 years after XP released to drop support for 98 and 2000, there's no way they'll drop support for XP within a year of the Vista release, especially with the current condition of Vista drivers and various bugs.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 2:15 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 16
Post 
there will be a way for Halo 2 to run on XP through some crack. Halo 2 runs on DX9 not DX10.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:20 pm
Profile
Bead calculator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:03 pm
Posts: 4
Post 
consider, Windows 98 and ME were only 3 and 2 years old at WindowsXP's launch.

Now, WindowsXP and Windows2000 are 6 and 8 years old at Vista's launch. They were only obligated to support their OSes for 5 years (part of the EULA).

At the end of the year, WindowsXP will enter "Extended Phase" support. That means there will be no functionality improvements and critical updates. Windows2000 suffers that fate today. Microsoft will not release a patch to update the Dayligh Saving Time in window2000, because it is a "new feature."


Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:31 am
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
Critical updates will be the last thing to go, and considering how long they supported critical updates for 98 and 2000 (until last year), I doubt they would cut critical support for XP so soon considering how incredibly popular it has been. The only reason they would cut critical support this year would be for a stupid move to promote Vista as being the most secure Windows OS. They should at least wait until XP falls back to the point where people start considering it old-school as was pre-XP when support for them was cut.

I'm not denying it, I just find it unlikely.


Sun Apr 22, 2007 5:55 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Graphical calculator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:58 pm
Posts: 37
Location: South Africa
Xfire: awsomemic
I think that if microsoft wants to make vista popular under the gaming comunity, they make more vista game titles and make it so that yu can still play xp games on vista os 8) 8)


Mon Apr 23, 2007 2:28 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
We're more worried about Vista games not working on XP, such as Halo 2.


Mon Apr 23, 2007 2:47 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Graphical calculator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:58 pm
Posts: 37
Location: South Africa
Xfire: awsomemic
Post 
oh ok... itl take some efort for game crackers to make it so that all vista games work on xp... im just gonna get vista for free at my mum's university... they give me all my microsoft office, and other programs for free... becuase its legal here :D :) :o :twisted:


Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:20 am
Profile
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 3:51 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Bronx, New York
Post 
LakersForLife wrote:
there will be a way for Halo 2 to run on XP through some crack. Halo 2 runs on DX9 not DX10.


That's not true, I had recently read the reason of Halo 2 Vista's capability requirements and I do recall DX10 being underneath modern graphics card. If I do get Vista there's a definite that I'm getting the Nvidia GeForce 8800 until they release the 9 series, unless they already did; I haven't been up to date on the graphics cards lately for some reason.

_________________
Image
Image


Tue Apr 24, 2007 3:17 pm
Profile
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 16
Post 
PilotLN23 wrote:
LakersForLife wrote:
there will be a way for Halo 2 to run on XP through some crack. Halo 2 runs on DX9 not DX10.


That's not true, I had recently read the reason of Halo 2 Vista's capability requirements and I do recall DX10 being underneath modern graphics card. If I do get Vista there's a definite that I'm getting the Nvidia GeForce 8800 until they release the 9 series, unless they already did; I haven't been up to date on the graphics cards lately for some reason.
Halo 2 is NOT running on DX10. Otherwise it wouldn't be coming out right now. Also, I'd rather get a ATi HD 2900XT at this point


Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:38 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 25 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.