View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:06 am




Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Vista Benchmarking 
Author Message
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 16
The Plan:
To prove Vista sucks. I will run games, benchmarks, and what not on the same computer and see how each do. I will be testing with Vista 32bit and Vista 64bit. There will also be tests done on XP Pro SP2 of course.

The Rig:
Pentium D 820 operating @ 2.8GHz
160GB SATA II HDD(8mb cache; 100GB XP partition, 20GB Vista 32bit partition, 20GB Vista 64bit partition)
1GB DDR2 533MHz Dual channel ram
GeForce 7800gtx

The Games:
Pretty much most of the mainstream games out right now:
Command and Conquer 3
LoTR: BFMEII
BF2
HL2
UT2k4

The Benchmarks
3DMark 2006
3DMark 2005
3DMark 2003

I will compile this thread with updates as I am done testing each aspect.


Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:48 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
Sounds good. Be thorough about it and it'll probably be discussed in the podcast. Don't forget to try different Vista visual effects settings to see how much of an impact it causes.
It would be funny if the results show Vista to be better, but I have my doubts.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:19 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 16
Post 
Pilot_51 wrote:
Sounds good. Be thorough about it and it'll probably be discussed in the podcast. Don't forget to try different Vista visual effects settings to see how much of an impact it causes.
It would be funny if the results show Vista to be better, but I have my doubts.
im too lazy to take off aero and see if it performs better. But CS:S is unplayable on the highest settings with aero on in 32bit vista. I run it fine on 32 bit XP Pro


Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:17 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
How difficult is it to disable Aero? I don't think it would be much harder than disabling XP effects, which involves no effort at all, just maybe 20 seconds of time.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:51 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 16
Post 
Pilot_51 wrote:
How difficult is it to disable Aero? I don't think it would be much harder than disabling XP effects, which involves no effort at all, just maybe 20 seconds of time.

you right click the desktop, choose personalize, then just change the theme to something like Windows Classic or Windows Basic.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:25 pm
Profile
Central computer (founder)
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:22 am
Posts: 109
Location: Michigan
Xfire: pilot51
Steam: Pilot_51
Skype: pilot_51
Twitter: Pilot_51
Voice chat: Mumble, voice.pilot51.com, Pilot_51
Teams: X-Clan -(X)
Post 
That sounds like themes instead of effects. Isn't Aero the glass effect? I'm sure it can be disabled without losing the Vista theme, sorta like what the pirates get with illegal copies.


Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:35 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Digital calculator

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:42 pm
Posts: 16
Post 
Pilot_51 wrote:
That sounds like themes instead of effects. Isn't Aero the glass effect? I'm sure it can be disabled without losing the Vista theme, sorta like what the pirates get with illegal copies.

hmm i think the effects get turned off the same way as in XP. lemme try later. Im too lazy to boot into Vista :P


Sat Apr 21, 2007 9:00 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.